Rack Chat: Hard Gainers

I wanted to revisit an article that Along the lines of posted years back regarding weight gain.  I am a hard gainer, and I know exactly where he is coming from when describing hard gainer questions about gaining weight. When I wanted to get bigger and was hovering around 170lbs soaking wet, I ate, and ate, and ate. I didn’t care what I ate, what was in it, how many calories it had, I just plowed through it. It a month or so I went from 170 to close to 200lbs. I think the moral of the story is, if you need to gain weight, eat foods that most people don’t eat because it makes them gain weight, and eat lots of it. Will you gain fat, yep, I did, and so did he.

Pictures

From the Article:

“I swiftly plumped up by eating copious amounts of breakfast food, my favorite food group.  I’ve talked to many “hard gainers” in my lifetime, each one proclaiming that they cannot gain a single pound no matter what they eat.  I usually have a hearty belly laugh.  Like this one.

Then I ask if they’ve tried eating large amounts of breakfast foods throughout the day.

“No.  How often?”

“Like all the time.”

“Won’t I get fat?”

“Yes.”

“But that’s not how bodybuilder’s do it.  I heard this bodybuilder friend that-”

“I don’t care.  You’re not a bodybuilder.  You just told me that you had trouble gaining weight, but now it sounds like you don’t want to do that.”

Yes, it would be great if we could all plan our meals well and eat clean and often like a bodybuilder.  But it’s expensive and time consuming.  Get the calories in.  Keep eating your fruits and veggies.  And have fun eating like a big guy.”

The Link:

http://alongthelinesof.com/2011/07/13/on-getting-fat/

Posted on March 17, 2014, in Nutrition, Rack Chat and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

