Rack Chat: Back Squats vs. Front Squats

There is a ongoing argument within the fitness community on which squat is better, the front squat, or the back squat. Lets call this the beer vs. wine debate. Some like wine, some like beer, others like none or both. In the end though we should all know beer has its place at the local watering hole, and wine serves its purpose at classed up dinner parties. This is probably a bad analogy but I going to run with it. I think the same can be said for front and back squats. I don’t think any one is better than the other, rather each one serves a specific purpose and both should be implemented in a strength program(given the clients limitations). I personally implement front, back, overhead, and box squat into my strength program. I find I enjoy the variety, each serves a purpose, and they keep my program dynamic and strength gains are maximized.

Picture 083

There is a great article titled “A Biomechanical Comparison of Back and Front Squats in Health Trained Individuals” that goes over each lift, and the differences between the two. It is a good read, check it out.

There was another blog posted on the Elite FTS website on the advantages of the front squat which sparked quite a debate in the comments section. I would encourage you to read the comments, pretty funny stuff.

Posted on December 8, 2013, in Powerlifting, Rack Chat, Strength Training and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. I actually enjoy the front squat over the back squat. But i guess due to habit I just do the back squat more.

  2. I referring to the back squat being easier on the wrists. I tend to use the “clean” grip for the rack position on front squats (see pic) which gets a lil painful as loads increase.

Leave a Reply

